Find A Physician

Return to Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia Overview

More on Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia

Newsroom

Return to Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia Overview

More on Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia

Research and Clinical Trials

Return to Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia Overview

More on Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia

Rehabilitation Medicine

Our History: NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia

The Rehabilitation Medicine Department at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital is one of the largest in the nation. With more than 50 years experience, we have assembled a team of professionals that is unequaled in experience and expertise.

We invite you to browse through the following timeline to learn about the history of Rehabilitation Medicine at NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center.

Early 1930's An Occupational and Physical Therapy Division operated under the Department of Medicine and the Director, Dr. William Benham Snow. Later, the Division name was changed to Physical Medicine.
1948 Development of fully accredited Residency Training Program in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.
1949 A Major gift was received from Simon Baruch Committee to establish a position of Coordinator for Clinical Teaching and Research Activities and to allow for the development of a clinical research program in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.
1952 Department of Rehabilitation Medicine was created. Dr. Robert Darling was named first Department Chair (1952-1973) and the Columbia University Programs in Occupational and Physical Therapy become part of Department of Rehabilitation Medicine.
1950's The Rehabilitation, Occupational and Physical Therapy Clinics in the Vanderbilt Clinic underwent major renovations and an Affiliation with the Institute for the Crippled and Disabled (now the International Center for the Disabled) was established.
1959 Establishment of Inpatient Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation "bed-service".
1962 Opening of the Inpatient Rehabilitation Unit in the Neurological Institute.
1974 Dr. John Downey becomes Department Chair.
1986 Rehabilitation Medicine Office and Outpatient Physical Therapy Department move to newly renovated space on Harkness Pavilion 1. The Inpatient Rehabilitation Unit receives its first CARF accreditation.
1990 Opening of 25 additional beds on Rehabilitation Service.
1991 Dr. James Lieberman becomes Department Chair.
1994 Inpatient Rehabilitation Unit moved to Milstein Hospital Building with gift from William Randolph Hearst Foundation.
1997 The merger of The New York Hospital and Presbyterian Hospital establishes New York-Presbyterian Hospital.
2000 Departments of Rehabilitation Medicine merge with Dr. James S. Lieberman named Physiatrist-in-Chief of both Columbia Presbyterian Center and NewYork Weill Cornell Center.

  • Bookmark
  • Print

    Find a Doctor

Click the button above or call
1 877 NYP WELL


eNewsletters

Top of page